My 98 Tomos Targa

Yo I’m new to all of this but have a pretty good understanding of how these engines work. Anyone in here from Ohio? I’m up along the coast of Lake Erie by Cleveland. I was wondering if anyone local to my temps and humidity range has any idea what range I should be looking to upjet?

It’s all stock as far as I know. My biturbo pipe just came in as well as a new dellorto style 14:12 and performance filter. I ordered 4 jets, 57-60 based off what I saw on the spreadsheet from peeps with the same set up. I took the float bowl off the new carb and examined that jet and it looks to be a decent size bigger than the ones I ordered?

Hooking it all up tomorrow to see what I’m working with. Haven’t taken the old carb off yet So I have no idea how big the jet is thats on there now. Does anyone know how big the jet is that comes with these ? There is no number on the new one that came in the carb...

Re: My 98 Tomos Targa

Start with the largest jet and work down.

Ok so let me ask, typically, how big should these holes be? I was under the impression that the jet that came with the carb would be like a 52 or something around there from what I’ve gathered. All the 57-60 jet holes look so tiny compared to that one. I’m not doing anything to go above 50cc right now. Just exhaust, filter and new carb/bigger jet. Basically I’m just looking for someone local with a similar set up on a 35. You think I’ll have to go above 60?

The 57-60’s look like you could barely fit a skinny threading needle in them. Is that how small they are supposed to be? I’ve never fiddled around with jets before so I have no idea how big or small they are supposed to be.

Use a #58 jet for that setup. And by the way I'm from Cleveland's West Side right on Lake Erie

Thanks. I actually just put the new filter and the new pipe on, put a new plug in it and bam. I got a nice brown. I kind of figured I might not have to upjet at all considering my old plug was kind of rich to begin with.