Moped for Long Distance Travel

Marion Robinson IV /

What's up family

I'm a traveling musician, and since the pandem has altered live shows, I want to downsize, and check off a bucket list thing at the same time.

I've been wanting to get into mopeds as a car replacement for years. I've tried the motorized bicycle route, a couple times and lived on a mountain bike. I have a $1200 Budget. This moped will act as a daily driver locally, and seasonally travel from MN to MO to raise awareness for homeless (as I've been there)

I need advice between these brands (although I'm open to other suggestions)

-TFR Kinetic

-Honda CT-90

-Sachs MadAss

Which would YOU choose and why?

Thanks in advance

SHNomad

Re: Moped for Long Distance Travel

Well the kenetic is the only moped listed in your choices. The ct90 is a solid bike and would treat you well. The madass is a neat bike, but a chinese clone engine which will break sooner than you want it to. The ct90 and madass have gearing which can make longer trips a little nicer on the engine. Honestly the honda will be the best bang for your buck out of those choices.

ALL of them are small displacement 2 stroke engines which all will require regular maintenance to ensure daily riding. Daily riding my moped meant weekly maintenance so I wasn't left on the side of the road. And if something seems like it is breaking you fix it that night so it isnt what breaks on your ride into work the next day.

Ct90 is the best bet if you need it start and drive everyday.

Dirty30 Dillon /

> Jay Rivett Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> ALL of them are small displacement 2 stroke engines

This is incorrect. Only the KInetic is a two-stroke, and if I am being honest it is the MOST unreliable choice.

The CT90 is not even a moped, but is far ahead of the rest of the choices in terms of long term reliability, given that the motor has been upkept/rebuilt.