Puch Maxi Stator

I am new to mopeds and have been struggling to identify the coils on my Puch maxi stator and have a few questions which I’m hoping somebody can help me out with.

My first question is, where is my ignition coil? The photos that I have attached show x2 copper looking coils, one with finer wire than the other but neither of them have the plastic case that you seem to find on the regular internal ignition coils.

Also, why do some stator’s have x2 copper looking coils and then an additional external ignition coil?

Final question, what role do the different coils have?

Thanks in advance.

5A9E81A9-D81D-44DF-8A1B-A05F6B11AAC4.jpeg
4300CE3E-DC35-4E46-9F8B-DB28901BCBA4.jpeg
403197E5-2ACF-4C2C-8205-A1D077B51B22.jpeg

Re: Puch Maxi Stator

The two coils you can see thru the flyweel, the thicker is the ignition coil. However you have a HT coil outside the flywheel that the plug wire goes to. What is the issue you are having, as neither of these two pieces hardly ever ho bad.

Probably Fred /

Before you go any farther you got service your magneto

Read this completely especially the part about 2/3 of the way down on the page about how to service it

https://mopedarmy.com/wiki/Puch_timing

Hi, thank you for your reply. That makes sense with regards to the thicker coil that I can see through the flywheel being the ignition coil. What is the thinner wire one then?

Also, I do not think I have a HT coil outside of the flywheel. All I have coming out of the stator is x3 smaller wires and a thicker cable for the spark plug.

The issue that I am trying to solve is I was not getting a spark and then the spark plug cable snapped as it was very old. So am trying to learn about the ignition system while replacing components that need replacing so I can get the spark.

8E6521B2-825B-4500-BCBA-75BD506AD85C.jpeg

Welllllll then. I would double check the wiki, look under puch, and wiring diagrams. You will see the 3wire version and how it all goes thru the bike.