Mopeds/Scooters in KY

Hello,

I have never driven a car and was never taught how (parents refused to teach me). Poverty made it exceptionally difficult even for my parents to afford gas for their vehicle, so it has always been out of reach. So, given that I have no experience with cars, I was told to look into mopeds and scooters. The problem is, I have no idea what I need to obtain to legally own one and drive it, where I can even go to learn how to drive (them), which moped/scooter is best for my state and my budget (about $2000-2500) and if I can even use them to cross highways (where my work is).

Does anyone have any idea where I can start? As winter comes along, it is going to be very difficult to walk to my work, let alone impossible to use my bike.

Thank you for reading,

Re: Mopeds/Scooters in KY

A moped is defined as having: "No more than two (2) brake horsepower, a cylinder capacity not exceeding fifty (50) cubic centimeters, an automatic transmission not requiring clutching or shifting by the operator after the drive system is engaged, and capable of a maximum speed of not more than thirty (30) miles per hour." KRS 189.285.

You'll need to get a moped license if you don't have one. Anything above 50cc and requires shifting is legally a motorcycle/scooter and you need a motorcycle license. With your budget I cannot emphasize enough that you should instead look for an older small Japanese motorcycle, like a Honda CB125 or Honda Rebel or something. Mopeds are not a good idea for use as sole transportation as they can be finicky.

That^ find you a small motorcycle and practice in a parking lot. It’s not hard really, we believe in you.

With that amount of money you could go to regular driving school and buy a janky car. I understand your situation as you've explained it but I just don't think a moped or motorcycle is the best solution.