Need 3D Printing / Injection Molding / Vacuum Molding Guidance

Hey all,

So I'm a total amateur when it comes to this stuff. I've done some searches, and watched some videos, but am curious as to what the MA community thinks is the best way to go about this.

Long story short, I got access to a friend's 3D scanner - no printer available at this time - and scanned some random moped parts. The files are in .OBJ formats. What is the best way to go about reproducing these things? I'm talking switch mounts, body panels, etc. Things that would normally be made of some kind of plastic.

3D printing the larger pieces would surely be cost prohibitive, and I'm not sure what type of injection / vacuum molding can be done with these type of scans. Can .OBJ files be converted into other formats? What file type is best for each reproduction method? Do any of these options make sense for a limited production run of like 1-4 pieces?

Appreciate any guidance people can provide!

Andrew

Re: Need 3D Printing / Injection Molding / Vacuum Molding Guidance

Hey that's really cool, I would love to send you something to scan for me, I'll work through the hurdles and can help you out if you want.

Obj files can open right into cura which is the software that controls most of the consumer 3d printers. The file you will get will probably have errors on it so first you will want to open it in cad and clean it up. I just checked and inventor can open obj, I would guess that solidworks can as well.

You will also have to think about the orientation of the part and check the dimensions of measurable features in cad, and most likely tweak it.

If you have a file you want me to look at let me know, I can pull it into cad and see how it goes. I've got an FDM printer at home too (ender 3)

Hey Graham,