Yamaha RT100 “Big Wheel” conversion

Jimmy Cincinnati /

So a little Project I’ve been screwing with for a few years now. Basically I bought it cheap but put it aside to focus on other stuff. Slowly I’ve been amassing random bits for it and recently found a spare afternoon to swap the stock forks out with DT50 forks and I extended the swing arm about 1.5 inches in the rear while adding additional mounts to give me plenty of options for rear seat height / suspension travel. I plan to raise the rear up another 1-2 inches. So my reasoning for doing this is... stock it’s a Yamaha Rt100 with a 18” front and 16” rear wheel. I really like this drive train because Yamaha did very little to change it and this motor was used from like 78-03ish. They are good motors and parts are cheap. The stock bike leaves the suspension wanting for sure and I’ve always felt the market lacked a lot in the “mid size” dirt bike class. Basically stuff along the line of a KX100 (19 / 16 wheel base). This bike will be slow but should fit adults nicely while not being overly tall nor heavy. Light and nimble is the aim. Oh, the front rim is 19” now thanks to the superior dt50 setup... just wish it had a disk brake. The 1st pic is with the stock rear swing arm while the 2nd is the extended swing arm. The last pic is not mine but is a pic of it stock.

It’s dirty, and some covers are not mounted on it but overall how do you like it? Do the front forks look too raked out? Feel free to bash it or give me pointers. This really is a labor of love that perhaps only I really dig.

07A63643-5373-4161-B7F8-B369B9CEEEC7.jpeg
D8B8ACFE-E78B-4019-A73D-86D4292BCDC2.jpeg
194986AD-4BA6-453E-9A40-85252D7FD33D.jpeg

Re: Yamaha RT100 “Big Wheel” conversion

jimmy, i got REALLLLY excited there for a second

00I0I_74FTFaGChRD_1200x900-1024x768.jpg

I always wondered what you put the DT50 front end on, cause it's honestly not that great of a front end and it doesn't have a disc brake lol