Yamaha Vino Won't Start

I have a 2003/2004(not really sure) Yamaha Vino. Last I knew it was running fine, after about a year I went to start it up again and now it won't start. It has less than 1500 miles on it and I've always made sure there was oil in it.

Why won't it start? I try the push button and nothing at all happens. I try the kick start and it sputters and the headline blinks on but the motor won't kick in. There is gas in it, not a whole lot, maybe a dollar's worth. Is the problem I just need to fill it up or is there something more nefarious involved? I really would appreciate the help. I'm a struggling graphic designer and I can't afford to have this professionally looked at. Thanks alot people!

For all your graphic and web design needs, <url> http://www.passionate-about-design.com

Low rates, excellant service.

Re: Yamaha Vino Won't Start

Check for a clean spark plug that sparks and then spray some Starter Fluid into the carb (or into the plug hole.. replace the plug). If it runs for a few seconds that carb is dirty.. which is very understandable if it sat for a year.. probably all gummed up.

To check for spark, remove the plug, clip the base of the plug to the fins on the engine to 'ground' it, reattach the plug wire and kick the motor over.. you should see little blue sparks.

Yamaha Vino Won't Start

Steamboat Aka J. R. Stevens /

Jason, drain your gas tank and put in fresh gas. If you have a battery charge it. Good luck. Jim.

Yep! Fresh gas.............the starter fluid might get it going, but I'd replace that gas. Check the airbox,too. Creepy crawlies or wasps can get in those and block the flow,possibly even getting into the carb throat. don-ohio (:^)

Re: Yamaha Vino oil line

kenneth lathers /

after removing cleaning carb. how can I be sure my oil line to carb is properly inserted and working. vino50cc

take a pic i have no idea what oil line you're talking about. the vino 50 carb isnt oiled.