head/taillight stopped working, brake light works (78 Puch Maxi)

1978 Puch Maxi

- only upgrades are a bullet pipe and high-flow air filter, rest is stock

I've been riding my Maxi for over a year now. Lights were working very well for a while, but would occasionally flicker... maybe like 1 out of every 100 rides... and then wouldn't give me any troubles for a while.

Well, I was riding around a few weeks ago at night and the lights started flickering again. This time, they went completely out and didn't come back on as they normally do. This happened while at WOT (~35mph) on a smooth road (no bumps). Seemed odd that they'd just go out like that without hitting a pothole or something...

So now, the headlight and the running tail light don't work, but my brake light and horn still work just fine.

Ok so I kinda suck at wiring, but I studied the wiring diagram and my Maxi. It's wired like the first diagram (stock). I looked for any loose or frayed wires, wiggled some of them around while the bike was running to see if I could get juice through the line... but I'll admit I'm not entirely sure what I'm doing.

Before I start doing something stupid, I figured I'd just post it here to see if anyone else has run into a similar problem with their Maxi. My suspicions are loose or bad wiring, or maybe the headlight burned out and that somehow prevents the running tail light from working... or something. Idk, whatcha think?

tl;dr: head/taillight stopped working, brake light works. Looking for advice.

Note: I did try the Search feature and also Google, but didn't seem to come up with anything helpful.

Re: head/taillight stopped working, brake light works (78 Puch Maxi)

Clean all your connections, the metal connectors oxidize over time. The most common problem is bad ground, especially between wire connector and frame. It needs to be a metal on metal connection with no paint.

Also check the bulbs!