Puch Maxi petcock installation?

Hello, I am new to the moped community and purchased my first moped in fall of 2015. Unfortunately one day my petcock broke on my commute and gas leaked out, I got fed up and stored the moped away until I decided to fix it myself after spending a ton of money on some previous repairs.

When I took the old petcock out (see attached photo) It looked to me like something from the tip was broken. I installed the new petcock and tested how the moped runs and it seems that there was no more fuel leakage.

My questions are the following:

1) Does it look like something broke off from the old petcock got stuck in the fuel tank, and if so should I be worried?

2) Just because my fuel does not leak from the petcock gas valve does that mean I installed it correctly?

Re: Puch Maxi petcock installation?

It's broken...you can see what a complete one looks like below

http://www.treatland.tv/SearchResults.asp?Search=Maxi+petcock

Just buy a new one. Having a new petcock is more than worth the money

Is it possible that there was something attached in the broken part and inside the fuel tank now?

New one is installed already. However, just because I do not see any fuel leak around the petcock, does that mean I installed it correctly?

Take pic of the newly installed petcock, if its not leaking youve probably done it right tho.

It is possible that a broken of piece might still be in there, but only way to check is to look. I dont think it can do much harm tho, as it wont fit through your petcock let alone your filter in the carb.

Patrick Keaton /

The fuel filters and/or the reserve pipe would be the main problems to worry about. Worse case your reserve would be the same as the on position and/or your fuel would not be filtered.