Relining Tomos Clutch's Rubberized Cork

todd amundson /

Relining Tomos Clutch's Rubberized Cork

This is my first attempt at relining clutch shoes on a tomos. I've heard so many different techniques on how to do this but wanted to give it a try using plain OG gorilla glue and rubberized cork. Damn that crap was tough to find in a 3/32 thickness. I sanded the shoes and cleaned the surface. Glued the strips down and clamped them as stated in the wiki. Just kept it simple. Anyone else use rubberized cork before?

IMG_0469.JPG
IMG_0468.JPG
IMG_0467.JPG

Re: Relining Tomos Clutch's Rubberized Cork

exactly how i do em kinda, been working for my tomososs'ss kitted and stock, mid way on my second pack of cork, with no issues, i forget if its 3/32 or 1/8 in but my local napa carries it.

one slightly wider long strip ,slightly annoying cuz its 2mm short of making the full round, moist slightly with a wad of paper( to activate glue?) spread on cork side and attach firmly.

its cool how it foams, taper ends trim excess, sand and slot don't know why but why not...red springs now why not. balance clutch bell why not

todd amundson /

Made some more progress today. I didn't need to sand or skim the 3/32" cork rubber at all in order to fit in the bell. The spacing is right on. I did ramp the ends of the cork however. I'll install shortly and see how they hold up.

IMG_0478.JPG
IMG_0473.JPG
IMG_0472.JPG

i must be using the 1/8" gotta sand mines

Hah - I did this too. But I had to glue 2 layers on top of each other

todd amundson /

Mike, What type of glue are you using? Most swear by JB Weld or Super Glues. I really wanna see how this plain old gorilla glue works.

Brandon Weiss (Detective brandon to you) /

I would advise against using hose clamps.......dont know why everyone thinks theyre a good idea. By the time you get the hose clamp to conform to thew curved surfaces, it is way too tight. You dont want to squeeze all the epoxy or glue out. A few rubber bands are perfect.