New to Mopeds.... FA50 and NA50 Restorations!

Hello everyone, I thought I would introduce myself since I am new to the Moped Army. I live in Indiana and have been a lifetime motorcycle enthusiast. I've done a bit of everything from racing motocross and flat track, to track days on sport bikes, Harleys, heck anything with 2 wheels and an engine! Over the last year, I came across 2 old mopeds (nopeds technically) for cheap. Both are non-running. The FA50 is definitely in better shape, but both need a complete restoration. I purchased them with the intent of being able to ride around town and the local country roads with my gf and her son. My goal for the FA50 is bring it back to as close to OE as possible. The NA50 may receive some "go-fast" goodies since it is likely the one I will be riding (I'm 230 lbs). I am sure I will be asking many questions along the way. Both bikes will have a build thread once I begin the process. Anyways, thanks in advance for help and support along the way!

Re: New to Mopeds.... FA50 and NA50 Restorations!

mark patterson /

Good luck! I actually just picked up a FA50 last week and Ive been bringing it up to speed. I can probably help with some initial questions if you have any. Also heres a link to the service manual that you can print out and use for free for the FA50..

https://www.ifixit.com/Document/uJ1pYcT6vwnHMkU1/.pdf

Thanks for the service manual link! That will definitely come in handy. The FA50 will be the first to go under the knife. It hasn’t ran in atleast 10 years. Motor spins freely and feels like it has compression, but I’m going to pull it and break it apart. I’m sure crank seals are dry and a set of rings with a fresh hone can’t hurt. It needs a good detailed cleaning, airbox, carb rebuild, and tires/tubes.

E7A62FA5-214D-430F-BD8A-725AC6ABB616.jpeg
2094D9F3-552B-49E1-B112-8565CED092CE.jpeg

mark patterson /