Suzuki FA50 noob help

Alright so, my grandma has had this moped sitting around for a long time and I have finally decided to get it running. I bought a new spark plug for it and I have finally gotten it to start up BUT it is leaking gas so bad. I have never worked on mopeds before so I dont know what could cause the problem. In the photo I have posted it is leaking gas from two places, the left side and the bottom. Is the carb flooded or something? Or am I missing lines?

20181221_105918.jpg

Re: Suzuki FA50 noob help

Pull the carb and clean everything thoroughly .

Polish the float needle seat 'til it shines bright . Insure that the float needle is serviceable .

The nipple that fuel is coming out of above the float bowl is an over flow and should have a tube that drains below the motor .

You'll need a factory air box with filter and a connector tube , if you want it to run decent .

I wouldn't ride very far on that tire .

Here's the service manual .

Read it .

http://qt50.net/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/suzuki-fa50-service-manual-1980.pdf

Thank you! Where exactly would that overflow tube go to? And I was going to build a filter for it soon and just buy a whole new carb. Just didnt want the new one to also be missing lines and leaking

The tube just drops down in front of the tire .

The carb you have is probably the best carb you'll find for that motor . Just clean it and see about finding a stock air box , filter and connecting tube . That's the easiest and quickest path .

IF Suzuki thought there was a better set up , they would have done at the factory .

If you can make the stock set up run the way it's suppose to , you'll be doing good .

Alright so I pulled the carb and opened it up and here's what I got. Not sure where these little pieces are or where they came from but I dont think they belong there hahaha

20181221_131805.jpg

How it ever ran is beyond me .

The jets are clogged . Where's the float ? I see the float needle and float pin .