My moby maxes out at 20! How do I get it to 35?

I have a 77’ motobecane 50/L? (I dunno. That’s what’s on the front tag, mopeds are new to me)

So I have a stock variator, stock rear sprocket(40 something teeth)

I have a new coil, new magneto, NGK spark plug

Dellorto 15.15 SHA carb with 56 jet (did the 3-4 mm dremel mod on the throttle)

And a new pipe from treats.

Max speed is 20mph.

What have I not tuned correctly or am missing to get her up to 35mph? Any advice would be super helpful since I’m a newb.

Re: My moby maxes out at 20! How do I get it to 35?

Josiah Radebaugh /

Maybe a video.?

Moped Lar (OFMC) /

If you have a 50L, you do not have a variator unless someone swapped out the Dimoby clutch for a variated one.

Maybe it’s an AV7? I’m not too sure I don’t know much about motobecane. I’ll attach some photos.

image.jpg

image.jpg

Moped Lar (OFMC) /

Non-variated 50L

Yep, you will need a variator, and the larger 50v rear sprocket 56t I think? Not sure if the front sprocket is different as well? See Wiki for upgrades, do you have the A, B or C cyl? This will also make a difference in your performance potential.

im guessing since theres all the goodies, cdi, doppler pipe, good bushings, cable choke carb, that the cylinder is an airsal kit and not stock. therefore, i got my money on timing or that main jet being to small, u can try choking it a little while your riding to enrichen the mix to see if it picks up speeeed.

How do I tell what cylinder type I have?

I added all the goodies, carb, Doppler pipe and Cdi, everything was stock before I got to it. So probably don’t have the Airsal kit on it. ( should I get it??)I just started adding things (obviously without doing thorough research) I got my timing at 1.6 Btdc