Honda Express Carb Troubles

Zach Carpenter /

Hello,

I'm working on a honda express 1978 trying to get it running again im pretty new to working on these bikes and engines in general. While trying to work on the carb and get it to stop leaking gas. I noticed the inside did not match my other working bike of the same model. The first and second are the pictures of the not working bike, the third is the picture of the working bike.

IMG_6014.jpg
IMG_6013.jpg
IMG_6015.jpg

Inside it was missing two parts, the top brass part (im not sure what its called sorry) and the other needle looking part on the side (again sorry).

I'm not sure if the whole carb is junk or if I can repair it, i've looked all over the internet and can't find either of those parts. Any help would be great but if I need to get a new carb what would be my best bet, since they're are so few out there that work.

Thanks!

Re: Honda Express Carb Troubles

The keihin clone carbs on ebay are not all that bad, i would just snag one of those. Missing a jet isnt a bit deal or hard to replace (the little brass screw) but the rest is essential and easier to just get another carb.

You could also post on buy/sell, im positive someone has one laying around they will give you for cheap

Jack Rutherford /

Looks like your missing the pilot jet (long brass tube), the float, float needle, float screw and float pin (assuming you haven't removed those items). Looks like the main jet is in it. I've never been able to locate a replacement pilot jet unless someone happens to post one for sale but most don't realize that the pilot jet pops out anyway. You can try a clone or maybe go with a Dellorto SHA real or fake. You would also need an intake adapter for the SHA.

For some reason, I picked up another Express. I guess the price was right. Getting those old carbs cleaned to the point that they will run right can be a pain. I may have to go full SHA on it.(edited)

Zach Carpenter /

Thanks for your reply!