Wiring for headlight?

Sergio Pelayo /

I just got a new headlight for my Puch Maxi and I’m confused as this is my first time. What do the 3 connection points go to? I know 1 goes to the voltage regulator. But the other 2?

8020A49D-1B6E-4C92-AD7A-D7F7711B653D.png

Re: Wiring for headlight?

Dirty30 Dillon /

Pretty easy, one is low beam positive, one is high beam positive, the other is negative/ground

Sergio Pelayo /

Do I hook up both of the low and high beam together or just pick one? Sorry I’m a noob

You connect them to the wires they belong to for high and low beam. If you bike has no high beam switch just use the low. The high isn't brighter, it just shines higher into other people's eyes.

I've had both high and low beams on at once , for everyday use . Definitely adjust the headlight to not blind oncoming traffic .

Both on at the same time puts out a nice amount of light , but , your system has to be able to handle the added output .

My FA50 has a bad switch . I chose the high beam for the better pattern and adjusted the headlight down . Have never had a vehicle bright flash me .

Sergio Pelayo /

Appreciate it!

What I don’t understand is, why didn’t they just ground the light at the light bucket mounting tabs. Then run a wire from the empty port to the same tab for grounding off accessories like the horn & the kill switch.Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 01/31/19 02:33AM by countryboy1.

It's better to run a dedicated ground wire. If you ground the headlight to the fork it'll usually work, but you're relying on a connection through the headset bearings or cables, which isn't always that great.

> Saabsonettguy . Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> It's better to run a dedicated ground wire. If you ground the headlight

> to the fork it'll usually work, but you're relying on a connection

> through the headset bearings or cables, which isn't always that great.

The front tire is connected to the forks?

Rick Bergsma /