Tomos A55 Lights Out

Wyatt Shadowfax /

Alright, so before I start this, I'm going to say that I am an Electrical-Mechanical Engineer/Technician by trade, so I am well acclimated with this kind of stuff. I am also well versed with small engines. The following issue happened on my 2010 Tomos ST with the A55 engine. The poor thing is quite beat up, and was quite abused before I acquired it. I have put a lot of work into it, and have replaced quite a few parts since I got it.

With that out of the way, here's the scoop; I was riding with my friend (who ironically has the same moped as me), and I turned on my turn signal, and the indicator light in the gauge cluster got REALLY bright, and wasn't blinking, so I turned it off. I went to go use it again a second later, and it still was solid, but wasn't as bright. At that time, all my lights went out. My friend was behind me, and said that my turn signal got really bright, and went out along with my brake light. So obviously, something shorted out.

The thing still runs fine, the lights just don't work after that. Upon looking into it, I saw the wires for the rear light cluster are inside the rear fender, and the cover and insulation had been worn down to the conductor because of the rear wheel occasionally rubbing it. This only happened to one wire. The next day, me and my mechanic friend dropped the rear wheel, and re-wired said wire that was damaged, to no avail.