Bogging on 1st gear ? i tried everything ! :(

Anthony Vargas /

so ill start off with a facebook video of me riding and im new to repairing mopeds but i've tinkered in the field of motocycles and scooters , you can hear the bogging at take off.

as for details , my targa lx 2002 is kitted to 70cc and a unknown carb(for now) ill check tomorrow . with a 85 main jet . has a A35 chrome bullet for the exhaust. now what i've done so far was

. Taking off transmission side cover and replacing the clutch pads , both 1st and 2nd are now brand new

. i made sure all shims are in place 2 on the left 1 thick small in the middle , and one behind the clutch.

.i changed my spark plug as well .

.cleaned out the carb multiple times all jets were clear.

i did notice that there is a leak on the magneto side of the bike , i havent changed the seal yet but will try tomorrow after a rebuild. the oil i placed in was no where near when it came out the drain , its as if my engine just swallowed it , missing a good 6-8oz of oil , and it was changed today lol . im not sure whats causing the bogging but the bike was fine this morning , rode from 9am-11am , then it crapped out , this happend a few days ago too when i thought it was the clutch since the pads were gone. if anyone can help me that would be amazing , if i missed anything please do ask ill try to provide all the info i can.

PS: transmission side has all teeth but one.

IMG_1070.jpg

Re: Bogging on 1st gear ? i tried everything ! :(

Anthony Vargas /

Sounds like your flyside seal is bad. Replace it and the other side in the gearbox too.

Sounds like you are leaking through the seals when it gets warmed up, time to replace them especially given all the other repairs you’ve done. Inspect/replace top end gaskets too if possible. Worth it in the long run, and replace the bad gear ASAP

Anthony Vargas /