1978 Honda NC50 Gas/oil tank question

Hi all, excited to be here. I recently acquired a 78 and 77 NC50. Both orange, both with several issues. I have some experience working with old UJM's (70's-80's) but I am new to Mopeds (or in this case "Nopeds"?) so any general advice (or resources) particular to this machine is welcome since these are my first.

In this case both bikes have the same issue that the Oil sight gauge on both takes is leaking copious amounts of 2 stroke oil. Eventually I may switch to premix but for now I would like to keep the oil tanks and pumps. Usually I am really good at finding parts but but im afraid these oil sight gauges (honda part #55118147010) may be made out of "Unobtainium" ? Any idea where to locate these or if there are other ones that can be made to work? Any help is welcome!

IMG_0037 2.JPG
IMG_0035.JPG

Re: 1978 Honda NC50 Gas/oil tank question

In this case, if it were me, i'd be running premix anyway. Had one of those express oil injectors bail on me, and aftermonths of being just fine. As for the window, your best bet might be creative engineering. find some oil safe glue and gob in a new window. I don't think those were ever intended to be replaceable so I doubt replacements exist, and even if they did it's not likely they'd be any easier or more reliable to get in than just gluing on a new window.

^ this, or just advertise for a clean unrusted tank on buy/sell forum, be careful many times the divider between the oil tank and the fuel tank can rust through, then you are running pre-mix and injection!

Jack Rutherford /

I'll look around. Some guy machined a piece of aluminum to replace the oil sight. And then I think somebody found a replacement sight that would work - check the Honda Express FB page.

dosnt seem to be any oem or replacement sight gauges around but someone said a Kubota mini tractor sight works or a plain black rubber hole cover.

in google search for the following

kubota hydraulic oil sight glass