QT50 - Ignition/Starting

Most of the forums I've searched are pretty old, but I'm going to give this a shot.

I bought a running 79 QT50 a couple weeks ago. Guy didn't have a key for the ignition, a title, or a battery; which I still have to figure out the title issue, but I test drove it and we made a deal. I'm completely new to mopeds but the forums have helped me out so far.

So my issue is, when I got it, it had no working lights on it whatsoever. Not even the headlight when it was running. All the bulbs seem fine. He gave me an extra ignition switch with no key since the one on it was jacked up. I put the new switch on and got a new battery and fully charged it. I disassembled the switch and made the connection, and the oil light came on. Right turn signal worked front and rear, left signal just lit the light on the cluster. Tail/brake light wouldn't work either. But it wouldn't start, if I undid the connection on the switch it would start. Is there something else that may be unplugged? I checked everything over and all the bulbs and everything seems to check out. I'm at a loss here. Any help is appreciated, thanks guys.

Re: QT50 - Ignition/Starting

Your headlight has a pretty good chance of being burned out. As for the other bulbs, running without a battery isn't good for them, but I imagine they will be okay. You'll need to have the bike running and a charged battery to get a good judgement of what does and doesn't work, bulb wise.

Does your speedometer assembly have "Off, Start, and Run" above the key? The three positions have a rev limiter(which someone who understands better than I can explain) for the start position that can keep the bike from starting if wired incorrectly.

'79 should just have run/off positions.

Jesus. It's like I didn't even read your post. My bad. I imagine Mr. Rutherford, whose screen name I cannot remember, will have an intelligent answer.