Re: '78 vespa bravo new carb still wont idle

I was just reading about having a leaking decomp valve and the solution was lapping. If I can clean it and it works I’m fine with that. I didn’t replace the mounting bolts I just cleaned them up while I had them off to replace the tires. But as you guys can probably tell this is my first time getting into things like carburetors and engines I didn’t really understand an air or fuel leak before I started getting into this so bear with me lol

I appreciate the explanation and I have a better understand of how that works now. However i never replaced the mounting bolts with longer ones. I just cleaned up the stock ones while I had the tires off and was changing the gear oil. I don’t think the oil was ever changed before me and it had been leaking as there was oil everywhere and little left in the hub. I most likely over tightened them or they were already like that. I wrapped them and they seem to we holding. I don’t have a problem cleaning instead of replacing, I much rather do that. I was just reading about a leaking decomp valve and it seemed the solution was lapping. This is my first time ever even opening up a carburetor or engine. In fact I didn’t even understand air or fuel leaks before this so bear with me lol

Took apart the decompression valve and cleaned it good, finally tested the compression multiple times and only got about 45 psi. I thought that seems really low as it isn’t very easy to turn over but it should be around 120 correct?

> Colin Onda Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> Took apart the decompression valve and cleaned it good, finally tested

> the compression multiple times and only got about 45 psi. I thought that

> seems really low as it isn’t very easy to turn over but it should be

> around 120 correct?

Yes you should be around 120. Anything under 90 is no good