clutch drag

Alan Jackson /

my paloma dasl is a lot like a motobecane clutch and drive wise.

but even at idle it wants to turn the back wheel and stalls if back wheel is still

i'm new to these type of clutch/variators. is it simply a case of sanding the rust off off of somewhere?

Re: clutch drag

Rust and machine is not a good match .

Alan Jackson /
IMG_7772best.JPG

yeah i guess your right

But , talk about patina . ;)

cool, i cant even see the nut that holds the clutch on, but its behind there? guarenteed it rusted behind there.

Alan Jackson /

no nut just a circlip

^ok, clip. ok, only u have the power.

Wesley Ambrosini /

The tank is badass

Ur single speed, no variator...ur clutch pads are stuck to the bell. Pull the clutch and break the pads loose, and clean up the bell with some steel wool.

Ur gonna want to look into crank seals too. In the near future anyway

Alan Jackson /

ta for that aaron, ill have a look

yeah im amazed it runs re the crank seals

i have the luxury of 2 aml 50 motors and a rare aml 60 motor to play with and plan on rebuilding the aml 60 first for obvious reasons......

with new seals and rings and i might have a quick look at the porting ........

Very difficult to see the parts break down in the English language manual, but the automatic clutch is similar to others. On the AML engines the single action clutch both shoes share the same anchor axle to pivot upon. Usually that is where they gum up with chlutch powder, old waxy grease and crap. Remove the pulley cartridge after taking off the truarc clip (careful of the individual needles for bearings) and the arms are in the cartridge. You will need to work the arms free with penetrating oil so they are free moving, then remove most of the oil so that there is none slopping around to foul the friction surfaces.

AML50singleclutch.jpg