Can You Burn Out a Tachometer?

Garrett Bernhagen /

Purchased one of those ungodly expensive tachs from treat land a while back for use on my magnum. Wired it once and it kind of worked but now it doesn't seem to do anything anymore; tried a few different wiring methods and now I'm afraid I ruined it. Is that something that can happen?

Re: Can You Burn Out a Tachometer?

From your experience it definitely is something that can happen . ;)

Garrett Bernhagen /

Thanks for the input, haha

Does that tach have a battery for any reason ?

How many RPMs are you revving to burn out a tach? You must be flying...

Garrett Bernhagen /

this tachometer works like a voltage meter. it has no cables or anything that run to the wheels, it measures the current from the headlight wire and interprets it as an RPM reading. I am wondering if I sent the wrong kind of voltage to it and burned it out or if it was just defective from treatland to begin with. I have no knowledge of how common this style of tachometer is and what sensitivities it has to being wired improperly so I am looking for some advice if any others have had experience with this either in mopeds or on other vehicles.

Dirty30 Dillon /

> Garrett Bernhagen Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> this tachometer works like a voltage meter. it has no cables or anything

> that run to the wheels, it measures the current from the headlight wire

> and interprets it as an RPM reading. I am wondering if I sent the wrong

> kind of voltage to it and burned it out or if it was just defective from

> treatland to begin with. I have no knowledge of how common this style of

> tachometer is and what sensitivities it has to being wired improperly so

> I am looking for some advice if any others have had experience with this

> either in mopeds or on other vehicles.

You have to link the Tach you are talking about.