Sachs 504/1A Engine - Piston Seized

Hi,

I'm new here. I've had a Solex 4600 for a few years now and recently bought a cheapo Sachs Westlake with a seized piston. I'm new to working on the bikes, and figured I'd start a project bike. It'll take a lot of work and learning on my part but I've got time. It's missing some parts (speedo, plastic side covers and floorboard) and needs some other TLC.

Anyway, it has the 1 piece jug cylinder and I'm trying to free the piston - right now it's filled with PB Blaster and soaking.

I was wondering if anyone had any other tips on how to free up the seized piston in a jug cylinder. Also, any tips on the best way to pry off the ignition cover?

Thanks!

Re: Sachs 504/1A Engine - Piston Seized

Add some heat into the mix after you drain the pb fluid. You could also just plan on replacing your crank. I am not too familiar with the 505 engines but you should be able to find a new one. If you can find a new crank you could just cut the old one off at the con rod and the will allow you to remove the jug from the rest of the engine. Or even just split the cases and remove the crank without cutting.

Just my first thoughts if the jug is un willing to come loose from the piston. Heat before destroying though.

> Jay Rivett Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> Add some heat into the mix after you drain the pb fluid.

Thanks for the tip. So sorry about the newbie question, but how would I got about this? Just keep a torch to it for a long time?

I was also thinking about taking a hacksaw and trying to saw the cylinder in half. I assume it's junk anyway at this point.

normally id just take a blunt object that fits in the cylinder and use a large sledge hammer to tap out the piston using the weight of the hammer to shock it little by little, but the sachs cylinder is different. maybe you can try this but stick something in the spark plug hole and tap it out. gl