Book

I am totally new to working on a moped. I would like to take an older one, take it all apart, and completely rebuild the engine. I know next to nothing about the pieces I will be working on.

Can you recommend a book that would get me started?

Re: Book

Read it.... most of the video links are no longer working.

I need a more step by step, this is called a “x”, here is how it works, this is how you take it apart correctly, check for wear, clean it correctly, re grease it, assemble it correctly.

How to test things...

A book could get you there.

What would be even better is a mentor.

Ain’t no friends to play mopeds with in Michigan?

Search for rebuild threads or look at rebuilds In the wiki. It's completely different from different manufacturers.

Alotta service manuals available if you search for specific engines

Dirty30 Dillon /

What moped do you have? It's easy enough to find the service manuals for most of the common US models.

If you're looking for a Haynes-style manual, those are harder to find

I don't think I ever even put my hands on a book until well after I'd had many years experience fixing stuff .

That was before I was afraid I might screw something up .

Now , it doesn't matter if anything gets screwed up , because I can always fix it . ;)

It depends on your present level of experience with repair work. Mopeds seem simple but are highly engineered to maximize economy in manufacturing and operation. This means that there are subtleties that can be very puzzling even if you've worked on other machinery, including motorcycles.