Batavus regency won’t start now

Just bought my second moped (it was a good deal). I test drove it and it seemed to run well. Got it home, went three miles and now it won’t start. I took apart the carb and cleaned it really well. Checked the fuel lines and inline fuel filter. Still won’t start. Would it be best to check the spark plug next? That’s kind of what I gathered from Fred’s guide. I’m new to this and feeling a little frustrated since I just bought this thing. 1978 batavus regency with Laura m56 engine. Your thoughts are appreciated. Thank you folks.

Re: Batavus regency won’t start now

Yes, remove the carb and give it a couple really good cleanings. Use brake cleaner it is less expensive and better than carb cleaner. If the problem persists, it could be a condenser going bad on you, which will fail once the bike warms up.

Ah ok thanks

Whenever a motor doesn't start, I start with checking spark. If you have good big bright blue spark clean the carb. If you clean the carb and it doesn't run still, replace the spark plug. If the bike was already running there's a good chance it's just the plug or carb

Don't forget to insure a clear exhaust .

the tiny encarwi carb on the m56 is a trip, been messing with one for a coupla days. From what i can gather float height (u can push that needle) is important for idle and the choke. Too little and the passage (formed into the encarwi flange ) wont get gas nor will the choke work, too much and it floods and dumps on the inside where u cant see it.

If u see spark and wanna test if its fuel related. Turn petcock off, Spray some premix into the plug hole and spin the motor to see if she fires.

The plug i had was fouled, looked new but was done, always have a supply of fresh plugs

I have the same bike. That Encarwi H12 is garbage!!!! I swapped mine out with a Dellorto SHA 15.15 and never looked back.