Terrible engine sound Tomos A35

Sergey Smirnov /

Hello! this is my first time with a Tomos sprint moped. Terrible engine sound. What broke?

Terrible engine sound

Re: Terrible engine sound Tomos A35

That sounds like either a ring broke. Or rings are so bad that the Piston is slapping cylinder walls.

Yes$50 repair. New piston and rings for tomos a35 engine. You be in business!

Tweaker trash /

Club Tomos is a joke

Club tomos? Where is that located? This is the army!

So?? What was making all the noise? Did you take the top end off and look at the condition of your piston and rings????

Sergey Smirnov /

Not yet. Moped in a country house. Tomorrow I'll go and watch. It became very cold here)))

Вut I watched a lot of videos on youtube, and found that tomos make a same sound with a regular exhaust.

Sergey Smirnov /

Hey. I removed the cylinder and found that everything seemed to be fine with it, the piston was also fine and the rings were not broken. However, there was not a single gasket! Under the head and under the cylinder was just a sealant. Now the question is if I cut the top head pad out of aluminum, what is the thickness? 1mm? How thick should the bottom gasket be? Here in Russia just thick cardboard is often used (for bottom gaseket). And in appearance, this piston does not look like the original one from TOMOS.

20201119_142850.jpg
20201119_142731.jpg

There is no gasket on the top part of the cylinder. Tomos only has base gasket. put a gasket on cylinder that is in first photo. About 2 mm thick. Try to use material that won't burn when engine gets hot. Let me know how it works.

Sergey Smirnov /

Good. Thanks. But the question is, why do I see head gaskets on sale?