Piston Hard to Move in Cylinder Too Much Resistance

I started work on a Puch Newport that came with the head, cylinder and piston off of it. Piston came with rings on it. I installed the piston and put on the cylinder and head. This is my first time doing this. The piston fits very snugly. I can get it to move by turning the flywheel by hand, but it is not easy. I put a drive chain on the bike and tried to pedal start it on the stand. It pedals perfectly fine, back wheel spins, but as soon as I pull the clutch the pedals stop dead. If I hold the clutch in and try to pedal, standing on the bike, the pedals don't move an inch.

Wondering what the possible causes could be!

I've heard about having to file rings down to the right gap, but since the rings were already on the piston I assume they are either the old ones (and should fit fine) or new ones (and should have been gapped). Would failure to gap them cause this much resistance?

Could this be a problem with the clutch?

I coated the piston with 2 stroke oil when I installed it. It moved nicely on the crank w/o the cylinder on. There was some movement from left to right, (piston sliding left/right along bearing in crankshaft, not crankshaft moving left/right) but a friend said that is fine. It is, right?

Thanks for the help!!

Re: Piston Hard to Move in Cylinder Too Much Resistance

Piston and cylinder look nice, no signs of having seized

Hepatitis J [OFMC] /

Don't assume the rings have been gapped or even the correct rings for the piston/cylinder.

Place the rings in the cylinder to check the gaps. Place the rings on the piston and confirm that they compress fully. If they don't, make sure that the ring lands are clean, clear, and unmarred.

You can probably borrow a feeler gauge from autozone to check the ring gaps.