Re: Treats piston port VS MK reed kit, A Review

I've been running the Treats piston in my AJH for 2 years and over 3000 miles with no probs.

I know it's close but I haven't snagged a ring yet and at this point I doubt I will.

If yours is that close, why not a wee bit thinner base gasket?

FYI....I used the base gasket that came with the AJH kit.

...or file just a wee bit off the bottom edge of the ring...

How does a thinner base gasket help?

hey guys i'm working with someone right now on figuring out what the ideal dimensions for a base spacer + hi-comp countersunk head will be.

I'll probably end up producing 10 or so setups and selling them as a kit, I'll talk to Dan about bundling it with the kit.

Awesome Graham! When you do the spacers lemme know, I already had Mars™ cut me some heads. I think they sink in 2.7mm and give a final squish of 1.1mm when run with a head gasket. (edited)

Ended up sacrificing a treats piston port 45mm Version I piston. I didn't like relocating the ring pins on the treats reed kit piston and don't mind that the version I gap goes through the booster port. The port angle is gradual enough that it should never snag. Here come a ton of pictures:

Version I piston sits about 2mm below the top of the head surface (not counting a head gasket).

Intake side shots of the piston with an intake window marked out. Gives me 360* intake duration and compliments the shooter port well. Wanted to leave enough skirt below the window to keep the piston from cracking as well.

Drilled some holes in the piston to start with, then went to work with a couple files.

Finished intake window:

Shot showing booster port in the case:

Intake windowwww!:

Compression with nearly 3mm of squish:

(edited)

Kaj Niegmann /

Would the version II piston be better and keep the ring gap out of the intake window?

I believe so, but they're out of stock.

Kaj Niegmann /

http://www.1977mopeds.com/product/50149/Puch-70cc-KStar-Piston-Kit/