Welding up intakes: y'all got any pro tips?

Jonathan Feldman /

Lately, I've had kind of a return to innocence with mopeds. Like things that I once glossed over and didn't think twice about.. I'm finding myself revisiting ( with a little bit more knowledge than previously. ) Anyway, I recently obtained my first welder aka the OG harbor freight shitter. It's been a joy to finally embrace the match made in heaven that is.. janky mopeds and half ass welding. However there's one thing I'm stuck on...

How the fuck do you make an intake?

I've done some reading n some welding n some reading again... but for the life of me I can't get a intake to seal properly. I admit right now that I'm a beginner welder and I'm challenging myself trying this. But I'm still curious if there's any pro tips I'm missing here.

I've heard of two methods primarily for making intakes.

1. Drill the base plate to whatever size tubing is going in. Shove the tubing in and weld that bitch up.

2. Weld the tubing directly to the base plate and fill with water to check for leaks. Once you've confirmed it's leak free, then you can drill out / match the base plate to whatever intake port you want.

Method 2 originally made more sense to me cause I mean shit.. you get to check it for leaks very easily before you get too deep in the game. So that's the method I've been attempting ( key word: attempting ). But the more I think about it, method 1 seems easier to seal.

ANYWAY, before I put all y'all to sleep listening to me ramble.

What method do you use to weld up intakes? How do you like to check for leaks? Any pro tips as a whole you'd like to recommend?

As always, thanks y'all. XOXO, Jon

Re: Welding up intakes: y'all got any pro tips?

Brandon Weiss (Detective brandon to you) /

JB weld and paint makes you the welder you ain't!

Ive made a few homemade intakes with flat bar and the curved portions of bicycle handlebars, with a $150 forney 125 flux core MIG welder.