Hobbit vm20 tuning help..

Hey all-

Just recently plopped a vm 20 (with mlm intake) on my hobbit (dr70 kit, puchonda head, proma...)

Has the stock main jet but I put in a 15 pilot jet (as opposed to the 22.5) The bike runs fine when it is choked. It also rides fine off the choke, as well as will idle fine. But while riding , when coming to a slow/stop, the bike dies-can’t even keep it alive by gassing it. The bike acts almost the same regardless of which pilot jet is in. Any help would be appreciated as I have no experience with these carbs

Thanks

Re: Hobbit vm20 tuning help..

My hunch is that the "stock main jet" is too rich for your setup. You need to tune it. What does your plug look like?

Dark brown bronze ish

Bill Mazzacane /

> taylor Vogel Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> The bike runs fine when it is choked.

That means the engine is running lean from either your jetting or a vacuum leak. Or a combo of both jetting and leaking. But often the problem is the low jet.

If you were trying to clean your old carb, you should replace small low jets, do not try to clean a low jet.

> taylor Vogel Wrote:

> Dark brown bronze ish

Plug chops are a waste of time!!!

Unless you have a source for leaded gasoline? But for the rest of us that use Unleaded, the only color on the spark plug is deposited by your 2 stroke oil.

Bill M.

Dang it . I've been doing it wrong for the last 50 years .

I always clean every jet in every carb I take down . Amazingly , they sure seem to end up doing their job , flawlessly .

And , I go by the color of whatever gets deposited on the plug . Doesn't seem to matter which type of fuel gets burned .

Who doesn't clean low jets lol

Bill Mazzacane /

> JBOT Admin Wrote:

> Who doesn't clean low jets lol

Obviously you are just an enthusiast. A pro doesn't waste their customers time by risking a comeback and trying to save the customer few bucks on a part that you can not guarantee is clean.