Mikuni 20mm Carb setup help

Hi there,

I rebuilt my Honda Hobbit with a 70 kit and a brand new Mikuni 20mm carb. The moped will only run with the choke on. Once I turn the choke off it dies. I messed with the idle screw and the mixture screw a bunch and could not get it to idle w/out the choke on. I messed with those 2 screws so much that Im not sure where my baseline was anymore. My question is...where do you set these 2 screws to start? And what is the process for getting it to idle normally w/out the choke? Im a noob when it comes to carb tuning so any advice would be great.

Ricky* Moved to this forum by grahammotzing(edited)

Re: Mikuni 20mm Carb setup help

I'd post more info

Pipe?

Intake?

Jets?

The vm20 is not easy to tune at all ......

When I had a vm20 I ended up buying a whole Shit ton of jets.

Yeah ok sorry here is what I gots going on:

70cc kit from treatland:

malossi cast iron 70cc cylinder

Pipe:

Proma

Intake:

MLM honda hobbit VM20 intake - https://www.treatland.tv/productdetails_popup.asp?productcode=motion%2Dleft%2Dhobbit%2Dintake%2D826

Jets:

What it comes with - treats website says "usually includes a 180 main and 22.5 idle"

Dude, CARBS ARE NOT SETUP FROM THE FACTORY! Lol You need to tune your bike. buy a set of jets in the right range and get to work.

yeah ok i see what you saying. how do i know "the right range" for jets?

Sorry that wasn't meant to sound mean, I just don't understand how often people expect a universal part to be plug and play. It could be put on any bike!

Jetting is an art, you screw up and your engine seizes. So don't run it anymore until you get an idea of where you need to be jetting wise.

Running rich= four stroking, meaning it doesn't fire every revolution. No risk of seizing here as the engine is getting plenty of fuel/oil mix..

Running lean= bogging down.