Puch Polini Reed Upgrade

So I’ve been using the Boyesen reeds (love hate thing) for a few years now but they tend to break or chip away after like a year and a half. It happened again this year, probably from to much wot. I want to stick to the 15 Bing set up but are their other reeds that are an upgrade to the stock Polini or is Boyesen still the best option?

Re: Puch Polini Reed Upgrade

todd amundson /

Carbino. Mallossi reeds cut by hand work wonders.

Overpriced Parts /

> todd amundson Wrote:

> -------------------------------------------------------

> Carbino. Mallossi reeds cut by hand work wonders.

Nope stock tomos or airsal twin petal way better then any single reed you cut by hand

But I get pretty good use out of the two stage reeds they make the best power more then the other two but maybe your over tightening them, you ported the intake/got something sharp in the intake or running too high of an RPM

Kevin Bishop /

Maybe you aren’t cutting them right. Boyesen reeds sold on treats don’t last they are cheap. Just like their tubes for tires. I cut my own and they lasted over 4 years, still there too. Malossi carbon fiber sheets are the deal. You just have to round and sand your corners. A punch would be ideal but it’s hard to fab one.

if the reeds are making contact to the cylinder you need a riser plate, normally you should get at least 3-4k miles out of a set of reeds, if they are wearing out at a few hundred miles they are probably hitting the cylinder.

also the rubber coated reed plate, athena show in picture, will protect the reeds and keeping them from chipping or cracking.

the stock polini reed block is my least favorite, i got a pile of them... sometimes i'll put them in a stock tomos or pug.

IMG_20200325_214738.jpg