New to Mopeds- Just adopted a Tomos

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the moped army but have lurked for a little while before joining and really appreciate all the great information you all have and your passion for mopeds.

TOMOS PICS

I'm very excited to learn as I go with my latest purchase, a Tomos Targa LX 1996 A35 kickstart.

She needs some TLC, but she runs which is a good start and gives a surprisingly smooth ride. Need to get some parts but had some general questions about what parts are best to get to improve the performance of the bike.

1. Instead of a stock airbox, I'm looking to get something smaller. Like the attached, would the longer air filter provide a better intake?

Dellorto SHA 14mm

2. The right button controls don't quite fit in the area- not sure if something is missing or it's not the right button.. the guy who had this previously was doing a bit of work and this seemed to be the sketchiest piece on there. It turns on the bike, however it won't turn it off. Something fun I found out at the end of the test ride.

3. Looks like that nest of wires by the headlight could be for blinkers..

For performance I'd like to get her to go a steady 45mph, though I believe this model only goes to 35mph top at the moment.

I also have a new paint job planned out, but, baby steps..

Been doing some research on my own, but thought it'd be a good opportunity to share and get some other opinions out there. Appreciate any thoughts you all care to share :)

20200810_182512.jpg

Re: New to Mopeds- Just adopted a Tomos

Overpriced Parts /

That straight pipe Has to go, 2cycle engines need an expansion chamber so get a cheep tecno bullet or biturbo exhaust and all you need is a black cap and screen filter for your stock carburetor and around # 61 jet, both of those mods will get you to around 40Mph