2000 Kinetic Magnum/Spaco 12.10 tuning questions

Hey All,

Not sure how many folks still ride Kinetics (I am prepared for the hate...I think) but I figured I'd post anyways. I've seen a lot of posts on the forums regarding Kinetics and Spaco carbs and there seem to be experienced and extremely knowledgeable folks who know about them, hopefully you all can help.

I'm still new to mopeds, but I'm consulting Fred's guide, the forums and the wiki in order to become as self sufficient as possible with my bike. Basically, I bought a 2000 Kinetic Magnum (it is variated, as I believe all Magnums are) with 200 miles on it a few months back. I ran it at a little richer oil to gas ratio until I was over 300 miles on the odometer as the manual suggested this to break in the engine. It had a stock pipe until a week ago, and everything else about it is stock as well (or so I thought). Once I started running at the proper oil to gas ratio (50:1), I saw a little gain in acceleration and top speed, but I couldn't get over 22mph or so before the bike would start four stroking. At that point, I assumed I needed to downjet as everything I read indicated my mixture was running rich. As a precaution, I took off both my carb and air filter and cleaned both, but neither was dirty that I could tell. I took the bike out for a ride and I didn't notice any difference in performance. After the ride, I moved my air filter (original Piaggio air filter) just slightly with my hand as it looked a little crooked. I rode it again immediately and the bike was totally different. Better acceleration and it topped out at 27mph with no four stroking at WOT. I tuned in my idle screw and thought I was hot shit. Fast forward to a few days ago, I ordered a Vespa Piaggio techno circuit exhaust, as well as new jet screws from 50 - 60 (I assumed I was running somewhere around 45 - 48). I popped on the new exhaust and took apart my float bowl to upjet to accommodate the new pipe. Turns out I was running a 54 (not