Custom pipe experience? Cut Weld Hack Benelli G2 / A35 Pipe

This is my first attempt at cutting and welding a pipe together and looking for your experience and advice on next steps. Its a Moto Guzzi Robin (Benelli G2) - I grabbed this cheapo Tomos Techno Circuit Pipe locally for $30.

It points right up to the cylinder with no modifications but is obviously hanging too low on the bike.

So this is the original header cut off the original exhaust. I was thinking I could find or make a 90 degree elbow but would that be a problem for performance?

My other thought was to try to heat and bend this one and have it meet back up with the pipe closer to the next bend:

You see how far off the original header is here:

Re: Custom pipe experience? Cut Weld Hack Benelli G2 / A35 Pipe

Brandon Weiss (Detective brandon to you) /

Referencing the 3rd picture, cut off the stock header at a sharper angle to better interface with where the pipes header is, and then cut a piece from scrap to bridge the gap. Take your time fine tuning the fit of the pieces with files. A little goes a long way when it comes to filing for a snug fit.

Make sure you have a good solution for the rear mount before you commit though.

If you can bend it without kinking it, that's what I'd do.

The wave will follow any curve, no matter how tight, but doesn't like kinks or square corners.

My circuit pipe on my Cimatti hung low on the left side and would scrape around corners. Mostly because fat pipe, and 16" wheels.

I used a piece of wood as a lever and wedged it between the header and the rear cone (with the pipe off the bike,) and slooowly leveraged it to twist the rear cone up. Raised it a full inch.

Header length changes pipe performance, keep that in mind

Heat and bend is usually the way to go

Header length equals 400rpm per inch, so it’s not gonna change much.