Pinto RR

Carlos Campiglia /

Hi All, newbie here. This is my mild restored/modded 78 Pinto RR. I'm hitting 35Mph on my top end. Does that make sense with my setup?

Now my take off it is scary slow for where I live... Any advice?

Setup:

Engine and Cylinder totally stock from the 7O's . ( just fresh oil)

15mm Bing, w Grandpa 15 intake and mesh filter.

Proma Circuit Exhaust.

Main 68, Neddle 9,17 ( I can swear is a 9) 3rd top notch.

plug reads seems on the spot with a nice uniform sun tan color.

Gearing is stock 14/45

001.JPG
005.JPG
006.JPG

Re: Pinto RR

You will want to tune your clutch. You can try kickstart springs, maybe flush at first since you have a stock cylinder and work your way in if needed, no more than 3 turns from flush.

Also, if you haven't yet, you will want to service your ignition components and set your points and timing, as they may have gone out of spec after many miles/years.

Most use a 2.17 atomizer with a 15 bing. Are you sure it reads 9.17?

Also, just a tip, when you wrap an exhaust you should wrap from the back to the front so that wind and road debris don't get caught in the folds and cause it to become loose and come off. (edited)

When you say “sun tan color” what shade we talking? Cause my sun tanned skin would be lean as hell.

14x45 gearing and that pipe should have plenty of low end grunt off the line.

35 is pretty fast for stock so you are good there. Clutch tuning is what will help most now. There are also springs just a little less firm than the kickstart ones. They are ESB brand I think and are black. They made a huge difference in my takeoff and I am a big guy and riding a magnum which is almost twice the weight of that pinto.

Carlos Campiglia /

Thank you Chris. That is what I thought with the clutch.

Weird think with the needle but it does say 9,17. Maybe my eyes are fooling me.

Carlos Campiglia /

Yes a little on the lean side for a two strokes I guess.

Carlos Campiglia /