Rocklin cafe build...

Thankyou Gracie /

An Introduction to myself and an emerging Build.

Greetings all, I am Jim aka RiverCity, in Rocklin Ca by way of Mason City IA. I’m a coder by trade and a midnight mechanic with an impressive portfolio of unfinished projects.

Got a basically identical pair of 77 pug 103s recently. But one of them turned out to be considerably slower than the other, So I says to myself: “hey you’re the shit, why don’t you speed it up?” and there my friends is the story. Jump cut through several dozen youtube vids, hours of mopedarmy lurkage, hundreds of images perused, and I start feeling like Neo: “Hey I know moped kungfu”!

But after the story laid out below, I’m now into the “don’t try to hit me, Hit me!” phase and my collar’s starting to get a little tight because what I thought were some very attainable goals are receding from my grasp like one of them “Hitchcock Zooms”.

When I got it, it would run up right around 31 on the level. Under certain conditions it would take a pause and then run up a little higher. Then it got a bit hard to start.

Installed partie cdi, with trailtek regulator,1.5 mm advance.. Deleted the decomp.Removed the stock muffler baffle. definitely ran stronger and at that point I could roll up into the the 36mph range and hold onto it for a while.

I Noticed that the belt was far under 13mm wide, and the marker test showed that the outer range of the variator cheeks were unused, so changed to a gates A32 which I realize now was a significant change.. Went from 4 balls to 3, added a star spring: bike clearly slower and that “second wind” of rpm range unavailable. Back to 31mph dead tops.

Cylinder out, cleaned it all up.

- Rings and piston were loaded up and seating (in my view) badly with some score marks that didn’t seem to correspond with the condition of the cylinder.

- Piston slightly loose in the bore. Ran through CheetahChrome’s drop test a bit quick.