Difference between revisions of "Moped Laws: United States"

From Moped Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
 
(202 intermediate revisions by 92 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
Laws for legal moped usage vary by state in America. You may be able to find information on your state's [[DMV Websites|transportation website]] but the following are likely to be more useful as some states make it hard to find moped related information.
+
The moped laws previously found on this page have been divided up by region. Don't see your state on the list? Do some research and add it!
  
== Arizona ==
+
{{Moped Laws}}
  
* A valid Class D (Operator) license is needed
+
'''See Also'''<br>
* Moped must be [[50cc]] or less
+
* [[Moped Laws: Canada]]
* Moped must be restricted to 25 m.p.h. and 1.5 braking hp.
+
* [[Moped Laws: Europe]]
* Mopeds are not titled, but must be registered
+
* [[Search by Municipality]] -- search for local moped-related laws
** A notarized bill of sale and MVD inspection is required for registration
 
** Registration is $5.00 plus $4.50 tax
 
  
== Pennsylvania ==
 
  
* Class C(car)required on Driver’s License.
+
== Chart of Requirements By State ==
* Insurance is required.
+
This is a summary chart of some of the most important points of moped state laws. Please note that blank squares mean "unknown", not "no". Also, it is assumed that the moped in question is under 50cc.
* Annual registration fee is $9.00.
 
* A title is required for registration.
 
* Moped plate issued.
 
* No helmet or eye protection required for driver.
 
* Does not require inspection.
 
* Design speed may not be more than 25 miles per hour.
 
* Engine may not exceed 50 cubic centimeters.
 
* Engine may not exceed 1.5 brake horsepower rating.
 
* Operable pedals required.
 
* Automatic transmission required.
 
* An electric motor-driven-cycle equipped with operable pedals and powered by an electric battery is defined as a moped also.
 
  
* :[http://www.dot10.state.pa.us/pdotforms/fact_sheets/fs-momo.pdf PennDot Moped Fact Sheet]
+
{| border="1" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="5" align="center"
 +
! State
 +
! Driver's License
 +
! Motorcycle Endorsement
 +
! Titled
 +
! Registration
 +
! Insurance
 +
! Helmet
 +
|-
 +
|Alabama
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Alaska
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Arizona
 +
| Y
 +
|
 +
| N
 +
| Y
 +
| Y
 +
|Under 18
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Arkansas
 +
|
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|N 
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|California
 +
|Y
 +
|M1 or M2
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Colorado
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Connecticut
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Delaware
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|District of Columbia
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Florida
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|N
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Georgia
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Hawaii
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|or glasses
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Idaho
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|Under 18
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Illinois
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Indiana
 +
|State ID or Driver License with MDC class A or B endorsement +over 15 yrs old
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|Under 18
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Iowa
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|N
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Kansas
 +
|Y <small>''(or moped-only license)''</small>
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|Under 18
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Kentucky
 +
|
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Louisiana
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Maine
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Maryland
 +
|Y / or moped permit
 +
|N
 +
|Y (10/2012)
 +
|N
 +
|Y (10/2012)
 +
|Y (10/2012)
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Massachusetts
 +
|Y
 +
|Option
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
! State
 +
! Driver's License
 +
! Motorcycle Endorsement
 +
! Titled
 +
! Registration
 +
! Insurance
 +
! Helmet
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Michigan
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|Under 19
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Minnesota
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Under 18
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Mississippi
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|Yes for roads
 +
|Yes for roads
 +
|
 +
|<!--Helmet-->
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Missouri
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Montana
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Nebraska
 +
| Y
 +
| N
 +
| N
 +
| N
 +
| N
 +
|<!--Helmet-->Y
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Nevada
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|<!--Helmet-->
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|New Hampshire
 +
|Option
 +
|Option
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|New Jersey
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|New Mexico
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|New York
 +
|Y
 +
|Over 30mph Top Speed
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|Over 20mph Top Speed
 +
|Over 20mph Top Speed
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Nevada
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|<!--Helmet-->
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|North Carolina
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|<!--Helmet-->Y
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|North Dakota
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Ohio
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|Under 18
 +
|-
 +
|Oklahoma
 +
|N
 +
|
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|<!--Helmet-->
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Oregon
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Pennsylvania
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Rhode Island
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|<!--Helmet-->
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|South Carolina
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N?
 +
|Under 21
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|South Dakota
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|Under 18
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Tennessee
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|Optional
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|-
 +
|Texas
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|Y
 +
|<!--Helmet-->
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Utah
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|<!--Helmet-->
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Vermont
 +
|Y
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|<!--Helmet-->
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Virginia
 +
|Y
 +
| Anything  50CC or over 40mph as of 2015
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Optional
 +
|Y
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Washington
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|West Virginia
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|N
 +
|y
 +
|
 +
|-
 +
|Wisconsin
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|Y
 +
|N
 +
|-
 +
|-
 +
|Wyoming
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|
 +
|<!--Helmet-->
 +
|-
  
== South Dakota ==
+
|}
  
* A valid class 1 license is needed
+
 
* Moped must be [[50cc]] or under
+
 
* Some form or eye protection must be worn
+
[[Category:Moped laws]]
* Title, registration, insurance, and license plates are NOT required
+
[[Category: For Newbies]]

Latest revision as of 21:19, 18 March 2017

The moped laws previously found on this page have been divided up by region. Don't see your state on the list? Do some research and add it!

U.S. Moped Laws by region
Northeast CTDEMEMANHNJNYPARIVT
South ALFLGAKYMDNCSCTNTXVA
Midwest IllinoisIowaKansasMichiganMinnesotaMissouriOhioSouth DakotaWisconsin
West ArizonaCaliforniaColoradoHawai'iMontanaNevadaNew MexicoOregonUtahWashington


See Also


Chart of Requirements By State

This is a summary chart of some of the most important points of moped state laws. Please note that blank squares mean "unknown", not "no". Also, it is assumed that the moped in question is under 50cc.

State Driver's License Motorcycle Endorsement Titled Registration Insurance Helmet
Alabama Y Y Y Y Y
Alaska Y
Arizona Y N Y Y Under 18
Arkansas Y N
California Y M1 or M2 N Y Y Y
Colorado Y Y
Connecticut Y N N N
Delaware Y Y N N
District of Columbia
Florida Y N Y N
Georgia Y N N N N Y
Hawaii Y N Y Y N or glasses
Idaho Y N N N N Under 18
Illinois Y N Y Y Y N
Indiana State ID or Driver License with MDC class A or B endorsement +over 15 yrs old N Y Y N Under 18
Iowa Y N Y Y N
Kansas Y (or moped-only license) N Y Y N Under 18
Kentucky N N N N N
Louisiana
Maine Y Y Y
Maryland Y / or moped permit N Y (10/2012) N Y (10/2012) Y (10/2012)
Massachusetts Y Option N Y N Y
State Driver's License Motorcycle Endorsement Titled Registration Insurance Helmet
Michigan Y Y N Under 19
Minnesota Y Y Y Y Under 18
Mississippi Yes for roads Yes for roads
Missouri Y N N N N
Montana N N N N N N
Nebraska Y N N N N Y
Nevada
New Hampshire Option Option N Y N N
New Jersey Y Y Y Y Y
New Mexico Y N N N N N
New York Y Over 30mph Top Speed N Y Over 20mph Top Speed Over 20mph Top Speed
Nevada Y N N N
North Carolina N N Y Y N Y
North Dakota Y Y Y Y Y N
Ohio Y N N Y N Under 18
Oklahoma N Y Y Y
Oregon Y Y Y Y
Pennsylvania Y N Y Y Y N
Rhode Island
South Carolina Y N N N N? Under 21
South Dakota Y N N N N Under 18
Tennessee Y N N Optional N Y
Texas Y Y Y
Utah N N
Vermont Y Y Y
Virginia Y Anything 50CC or over 40mph as of 2015 Y Y Optional Y
Washington Y N Y Y N Y
West Virginia N N N N N y
Wisconsin Y N Y Y Y N
Wyoming