Difference between revisions of "Moped Laws: United States"

(new MD laws gong into effect)
m (Removed incorrect use of the word “chart”)
Tags: Visual edit Mobile web edit Mobile edit
 
(18 intermediate revisions by 9 users not shown)
Line 1: Line 1:
The moped laws previously found on this page have been divided up by region. Don't see your state on the list? Do some research and add it!
+
Moped laws are divided up into separate articles by region. Don't see your state on the list? Do some research and add it!
  
 
{{Moped Laws}}
 
{{Moped Laws}}
 
+
== Requirements By State ==
'''See Also'''<br>
+
This is a summary table of some of the most important points of moped state laws. Please note that blank squares mean "unknown", not "no". Also, it is assumed that the moped in question is '''under 50cc'''.
* [[Moped Laws: Canada]]
 
* [[Moped Laws: Europe]]
 
* [[Search by Municipality]] -- search for local moped-related laws
 
 
 
 
 
== Chart of Requirements By State ==
 
This is a summary chart of some of the most important points of moped state laws. Please note that blank squares mean "unknown", not "no". Also, it is assumed that the moped in question is under 50cc.
 
  
 
{| border="1" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="5" align="center"
 
{| border="1" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="5" align="center"
Line 121: Line 114:
 
|-
 
|-
 
|Hawaii
 
|Hawaii
|  
+
|Y
|  
+
|N
|  
+
|Y
|  
+
|Y
|  
+
|N
|  
+
|or glasses
 
|-
 
|-
 
|-
 
|-
Line 148: Line 141:
 
|-
 
|-
 
|Indiana
 
|Indiana
|State ID+over 15 yrs old  
+
|State ID or Driver License with MDC class A or B endorsement +over 15 yrs old  
 
|N
 
|N
|N
+
|Y
|N
+
|Y
 
|N  
 
|N  
 
|Under 18
 
|Under 18
Line 204: Line 197:
 
|Y / or moped permit  
 
|Y / or moped permit  
 
|N  
 
|N  
|Y
+
|Y (10/2012)
|Y
+
|N
|Y  
+
|Y (10/2012)
|Under 18
+
|Y (10/2012)
 
|-
 
|-
 
|-
 
|-
Line 320: Line 313:
 
|New York
 
|New York
 
|Y  
 
|Y  
|Some
+
|Over 30mph Top Speed
 
|N
 
|N
|Some
+
|Y
|Some
+
|Over 20mph Top Speed
|Some
+
|Over 20mph Top Speed
 
|-
 
|-
 
|-
 
|-
Line 339: Line 332:
 
|N  
 
|N  
 
|N  
 
|N  
|  
+
|Y
 +
|Y
 
|N  
 
|N  
|N
+
|<!--Helmet-->Y
|<!--Helmet-->
 
 
|-
 
|-
 
|-
 
|-
Line 452: Line 445:
 
|-
 
|-
 
|Virginia
 
|Virginia
|N
+
|Y
|  
+
| Anything  50CC or over 40mph as of 2015
|N
+
|Y
|N
+
|Y
|N
+
|Optional
 
|Y
 
|Y
 
|-
 
|-
Line 475: Line 468:
 
|N  
 
|N  
 
|N  
 
|N  
|<!--Helmet-->
+
|y
 
|-
 
|-
 
|-
 
|-
 
|Wisconsin
 
|Wisconsin
|Y  
+
| Y
 
|N
 
|N
|Y  
+
| Y
|Y  
+
| Y
|Y  
+
| Y
 
|N
 
|N
 
|-
 
|-
 
|-
 
|-
 
|Wyoming
 
|Wyoming
|  
+
|
|  
+
|
|  
+
|
|  
+
|
|  
+
|
 
|<!--Helmet-->
 
|<!--Helmet-->
 
|-
 
|-
Line 498: Line 491:
 
|}
 
|}
  
 
+
== See Also ==
 
+
*[[Moped Laws: Canada]]
 +
*[[Moped Laws: Europe]]
 +
*[[Search by Municipality]]  (find local moped-related laws)
 
[[Category:Moped laws]]
 
[[Category:Moped laws]]
 
[[Category: For Newbies]]
 
[[Category: For Newbies]]

Latest revision as of 10:45, 26 February 2021

Moped laws are divided up into separate articles by region. Don't see your state on the list? Do some research and add it!

U.S. Moped Laws by region
Northeast CTDEMEMANHNJNYPARIVT
South ALFLGAKYMDNCSCTNTXVA
Midwest IllinoisIowaKansasMichiganMinnesotaMissouriOhioSouth DakotaWisconsin
West ArizonaCaliforniaColoradoHawai'iMontanaNevadaNew MexicoOregonUtahWashington

Requirements By State

This is a summary table of some of the most important points of moped state laws. Please note that blank squares mean "unknown", not "no". Also, it is assumed that the moped in question is under 50cc.

State Driver's License Motorcycle Endorsement Titled Registration Insurance Helmet
Alabama Y Y Y Y Y
Alaska Y
Arizona Y N Y Y Under 18
Arkansas Y N
California Y M1 or M2 N Y Y Y
Colorado Y Y
Connecticut Y N N N
Delaware Y Y N N
District of Columbia
Florida Y N Y N
Georgia Y N N N N Y
Hawaii Y N Y Y N or glasses
Idaho Y N N N N Under 18
Illinois Y N Y Y Y N
Indiana State ID or Driver License with MDC class A or B endorsement +over 15 yrs old N Y Y N Under 18
Iowa Y N Y Y N
Kansas Y (or moped-only license) N Y Y N Under 18
Kentucky N N N N N
Louisiana
Maine Y Y Y
Maryland Y / or moped permit N Y (10/2012) N Y (10/2012) Y (10/2012)
Massachusetts Y Option N Y N Y
State Driver's License Motorcycle Endorsement Titled Registration Insurance Helmet
Michigan Y Y N Under 19
Minnesota Y Y Y Y Under 18
Mississippi Yes for roads Yes for roads
Missouri Y N N N N
Montana N N N N N N
Nebraska Y N N N N Y
Nevada
New Hampshire Option Option N Y N N
New Jersey Y Y Y Y Y
New Mexico Y N N N N N
New York Y Over 30mph Top Speed N Y Over 20mph Top Speed Over 20mph Top Speed
Nevada Y N N N
North Carolina N N Y Y N Y
North Dakota Y Y Y Y Y N
Ohio Y N N Y N Under 18
Oklahoma N Y Y Y
Oregon Y Y Y Y
Pennsylvania Y N Y Y Y N
Rhode Island
South Carolina Y N N N N? Under 21
South Dakota Y N N N N Under 18
Tennessee Y N N Optional N Y
Texas Y Y Y
Utah N N
Vermont Y Y Y
Virginia Y Anything 50CC or over 40mph as of 2015 Y Y Optional Y
Washington Y N Y Y N Y
West Virginia N N N N N y
Wisconsin Y N Y Y Y N
Wyoming

See Also