Difference between revisions of "Moped Laws: United States"

From Moped Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 10: Line 10:
 
== Pennsylvania ==
 
== Pennsylvania ==
  
1. Engine may not exceed 50 cubic centimeters.
+
* Engine may not exceed 50 cubic centimeters.
2. Engine may not exceed 1.5 brake horsepower rating.
+
* Engine may not exceed 1.5 brake horsepower rating.
3. Operable pedals required.
+
* Operable pedals required.
4. Automatic transmission required.
+
* Automatic transmission required.
5. Design speed may not be more than 25 miles per hour.
+
* Design speed may not be more than 25 miles per hour.
6. Does not require inspection.
+
* Does not require inspection.
7. Moped plate issued.
+
* Moped plate issued.
8. Annual registration fee is $9.00.
+
* Annual registration fee is $9.00.
9. No helmet or eye protection required for driver.
+
* No helmet or eye protection required for driver.
10. Class C required on Driver’s License.
+
* Class C(car)required on Driver’s License.
  
 
== South Dakota ==
 
== South Dakota ==

Revision as of 02:21, 15 August 2006

Laws for legal moped usage vary by state in America. You may be able to find information on your state's transportation website but the following are likely to be more useful as some states make it hard to find moped related information.

Arizona

  • A valid class 1 license is needed
  • Moped must be 50cc or under
  • Mopeds are not titled, but must be registered
    • A notarized bill of sale and MVD inspection is required for registration

Pennsylvania

  • Engine may not exceed 50 cubic centimeters.
  • Engine may not exceed 1.5 brake horsepower rating.
  • Operable pedals required.
  • Automatic transmission required.
  • Design speed may not be more than 25 miles per hour.
  • Does not require inspection.
  • Moped plate issued.
  • Annual registration fee is $9.00.
  • No helmet or eye protection required for driver.
  • Class C(car)required on Driver’s License.

South Dakota

  • A valid class 1 license is needed
  • Moped must be 50cc or under
  • Some form or eye protection must be worn
  • Title, registration, insurance, and license plates are NOT required